Mage Life Chapter 15

Our new home was huge, similar in style to Enchanter Fion’s rooms, which were just down the hall. Thickly carpeted floors in a deep blue, to match the paler blue furniture and wall coverings. Sophia was standing in the center of the room awe-struck.

I stood in the doorway watching her. The sight of her openly gawking at everything suddenly struck me as funny. I burst out laughing.

“What are you laughing at?” she asked, turning her head to look at me, her hands lifted from her sides to rest on her hips.

“Nothing,” I said quickly. I walked further into the room to stand next to her.

“It’s beautiful,” she said, her green eyes wide, her voice soft.

“Yeah it is, and it’s your home now. We will work everything out. Jase is helping,” I said gently.

Sophia blinked back tears before rushing to me in a flurry of limbs, those limbs wrapped around my legs in a desperate hug.

I awkwardly patted her back. I was at a loss as to what to do. I looked around in search of inspiration, an open door way at the far wall drew my eye.

“Have you seen your room yet?” I asked, pleased with myself for finding a subtle way out.

Sophia loosened her grip slightly, her head pulling away from its place my stomach.

“No, I have my own room?” she asked breathlessly.

“I think so, you know as much about this as I do. Would you like to take a look?” I offered.

Sophia nodded and separated herself from me.

I was relieved to say the least.

We walked through the dark wooden frame Sophia going first. Her room was huge. A large four post bed dominated the room, a desk in one corner. The wardrobe was against the back wall. A doorway that I assumed led through to her own bathing chamber set in the wall next to her bed. Elaborate windows streamed light in, complementing the glowglobes set in the ceiling.

“All this for me?” Sophia asked softly, wonder and a touch of fear coming through.

“Of course it is Sophia, did you think we would be so cruel as to make you sleep in a cupboard?” I said jokingly.

“You’re a mage, you might have,” she replied, her red hair slowly falling out of its ponytail as she fidgeted, the charm must be weakening.

I had no words to answer that. It seemed the old mages reputation was alive and well.

“Just settle in, I will sort out some more clothes for you,” I said, deciding leaving her to get used to her surroundings might be best.

I crossed the hall to what I assumed was my own room, it was almost a mirror to Sophia’s, except for one difference, there was an extra door in the far wall. I was curious I walked across the room the soft carpet silencing my steps. I had never really noticed how loud and barren my apartment had been untill compared to this. Art on the walls, natural woods everywhere. The door was different, I could feel it swimming with magics, tightly woven into the wood. I reached out to touch it, gently feeling the grain. Stupid of me not to instantly realise why it was charmed. This was a workroom door. My touch had just unlocked it. The door swung open, revealing a circular stone chamber. A work station was connected to the raised disk of stone in the center. It wasn’t just a workroom, it was a golem and enchanting room. The echos of my steps rebounded back from the solid walls as I walked to the station’s glyphscreen. Flashing on the screen was Jase’s ident, an icon that had distinct  I touched it with a fingertip.

“I pulled some strings, you are authorized for golem creation, just don’t abuse it. Fion countersigned my request. I have been waiting to spring this on you since the foundry. You have exceeded every one of my expectations at every turn. You have been the son to me that mine could never be. Thank you, my boy,” Jase’s emotion laden voice drifted softly through the room, a recording, but no less real.

“You are welcome Jase, you are welcome,” I said gently to no one. I wondered again about Jase’s son, then shrugged he would tell me when he was ready.

I looked again at the room, a gift from my master. I had an idea, a smile slowly grew on my face. I sat at the workstations chair, to work out the foundations of it. Let’s see if its possible first.

9 thoughts on “Mage Life Chapter 15

  1. Now that I’m completely caught up, I have to say I really like the balance between worldbuilding and personal relationships that you maintain in Mage Life. This is a serial that I’ll definitely keep reading, thank you for writing it.

  2. Loving the story so far. The only part bothering me is how easily Sophia seems to be settling down in her new life. Magic killed her parents, magic couldn’t save her parents. I was expecting a great deal of stubborn aversion towards it, especially since she was already uncomfortable with it from the beginning.

    I’m looking forward to see how that new father-daughter / master-apprentice relationship develops. It’s a theme I don’t encounter frequently, but I’m already enjoying it a lot.

    • Thank you. I am having problems with handling Sophia. On one hand, she could be the stubborn angry child or on the other,she could be the accepting kind of regressive child. Children are unpredictable which makes having her in the story a pain to hold true to how she would be feeling.
      I’m really pleased to know that you are enjoying my story.

      • That is exactly the issue I have with her. She could be doing all of them at varying times. It makes predicting how she will behave hard. Also there is the fact that odd little things could set her off. Writing children is very difficult. I don’t recommend it, even with having children, they are complex and confusing.

  3. Having lost a parent at a young age, I can relate to the resiliency of children. I remember it was either the next morning or the following morning where my twin sister and I were having fun pushing each other down a very long driveway on a 2-wheel dolly. The younger you are the more in the *now* you are and don’t think a lot about the past or future. Of course there are many ways it can go as well: She’ll have big mood swings, it’s repressed and will come out later, she will adjust and move on, will develop a “purpose” because of this, or get on a downward slope from bad-to-worse and turn into his arch-nemesis. For a recent example, you could see the treatment of Arya in “Game of Thrones” who saw her father beheaded and others killed in front of her.

Share your thoughts

