Mage Life Chapter 7 Part 3

“Tristan!” shouted a young girls voice.

I was sat on my bed. Staring out the window, lost in my own thoughts. Turning around I saw Sophia standing in the door. I hadn’t even heard it open. She was smiling, but the shadow of fear was in her bright eyes.

“Sophia, What are you doing here?” I asked shocked.

“We were supposed to have a lesson, it’s been a week since I’ve seen you!” She said emphatically, her hands waving madly.

“Oh,” was all I could say

“What happened? Are you sick? My friend’s sister got sick, but they took her to the medi-thing,” she rambled on.

“I’m nearly better, I got hurt at work,” I answered with a weak smile.

“Your alright though?” she asked nervously.

“Yeah Sophia I’ll be fine in a day or two,” I said.

“You sure? You look, all sad,” she asked as she stepped closer.

“I will be ok, I’m just tired,” I said feebly. Sophia got closer, she was now within arms reach.

“Don’t lie to me. Whats happened to your eyes?” she asked as she leaned in to examine them. They were glowing fiercely, a side effect of my trauma.

“Nothing has happened to them, they are just a bit bright at the moment.” I explained. “Its nothing to worry about, just a sign that I’m getting better,” damn this kid picking on my eyes. She always goes for my weak point.

“Oh. They are pretty, but different,” she said, then smiled.

“I know they are. They should settle down soon,” I said doing my best to forgive her asking.

“Why are you really here Sophia? I enquired gently.

“Well, my mum brought me for lessons, and Master Jase said it may be nice for us to come see you,” she admitted.

Jase sent you? I asked baffled. Why would Jase do that?

Yep, you’re not cross?  You don’t seem that sick. Just sad,” she asked.

“Why would I be cross? You’re my apprentice. I can’t look after you if I don’t see you,” I said weakly. I wasn’t at the top of my game. Out of the corner of my eye I could see a shape approaching.

“Soph dear, we should go and leave your master to rest,” Mrs Leif said. I hadn’t even noticed her.

“Yeah,” Sophia said, her arms reached around me. A surprisingly tight hug. All I could do was hug her back. She whispered to me “get better soon,” before letting go, her face was flushed, with a final smile before heading to the door with her mother. “Bye Tristan.”

“Bye Sophia, thank you for coming,” I said trying to keep my voice controlled. It had been a long time since I was last hugged.  After she left, I was on my own. I had felt so unsure of everything since the explosion. That little girl had restored in a moment, my resolve to continue working to become a wizard. Wizards had freed magic from the iron control of the nobles. Magic was a weapon and at the service of the privileged back then. There had been no benefit to the people, who were merely fodder for the wars between lords. That fear was still there, but the work we mages did was changing that. Being a wizard could change even more. Finally free us from the shadow of the past.

6 thoughts on “Mage Life Chapter 7 Part 3

  1. “Being a wizard could change even more. Finally free us from the shadow of the past.”
    Nothing inherently wrong here, but the last sentence could be strengthened or the last two sentences could be distilled a bit.
    “Being a wizard would allow me to help to do my part to finally free us from the shadow of the past.”
    or
    “Being a wizard could change even more. The urge to make a difference rekindled in me, to help us all become more free from the shadow of the past.”

    More different ways to write that last bit than I can shake a stick at to make it more “owned” by the main character.

    ((Your grammar and structure at this point is greatly improved, by the way))

    • Thanks, I’ve been trying. Not seen you comment for awhile, you’ve just reminded me that I need to mention you and Underwhelming force in my little dedication.

Share your thoughts

